ISU World Short Track Speed Skating Team Championships
2006-03-31 08:30:00 zheng

In front of an almost sold-out crowd at the Maurice Richard Arena in Montreal, Canada, Korea took the titles of World Short Track Speed Skating Team Championships in both the Ladies and Mení»s competition. In the ladiesí» event, Korea (Da-Hye Jeon, Eun-Kyung Choi, Chun-Sa Byun, Yun-Mi Kang and Sun-Yu Jin) defended its world title by edging China by a mere 2 points, while Canada took third. On the mení»s side, Korea (Se-Jong Oh, Suk-Woo Song, Ho-Jin Seo, Hyun-Soo Ahn and Ho-Suk Lee) continued its seasoní»s dominance by taking the title ahead of defending champions Canada. China was third overall.

In both the Ladiesí» and Mení»s competition, Canada and Korea directly qualified for the Finals by winning their respective brackets on day one of these Championships, while China and Italy qualified through the repechage round.

Both newly crowned World Champions teams from Korea started the Finals round on a perfect note by winning all eight races in the 1000m Finals.


In the ladies event, however, Koreaí»s lead was significantly reduced during the 500m Final races, when China (Tianyu Fu, Meng Wang, Xiaolei Cheng, Mile Zhu and Wei Wang) tied for first place after 2 distances. Third place team Canada (Amanda Overland, Alanna Kraus, Anouk Leblanc-Boucher, Tania Vicent and Kalyna Roberge) was within 3 points of the lead. Korea increased its lead again by finishing first and second in the 3000m Final thanks to the performances of Sun-Yu Jin and Eun-Kyung Choi. This meant that mathematically, in order to have any chances of winning the title, China had to win the relay event and Korea would have to finish worst than third place. Despite taking the 10 points for winning the relay event, it was not enough for China to take the win in the overall standings, as Korea finished second, confirming its World Champion title. Team Italy (Marta Capurso, Arianna Fontana, Katia Zini, Mara Zini and Cecilia Maffei) put in a solid performance in the relay, finishing just ahead of Canada. Despite a bad exchange early on in the race, Canada fought back until the end. Their fourth place finish in the relay solidified their podium placement as bronze medallist.

In the Mení»s event, unlike their Ladiesí» counterpart, the Korean men did not struggle through the 500m Final races. Instead, they increased their lead over Canada (Francois-Louis Tremblay, Mathieu Turcotte, Eric Bedard, Charles Hamelin and Jonathan Guilmette) to 13 points and China (Ye Li, Haonan Li, Baoku Sui, Liang Cui and Baojian Wang) to 15 points. During the 3000m Final, second-placed Canada increased its lead to 5 points ahead of third placed China thanks to Charles Hameliní»s impressive win. In that same race, the second place of Huyn-Soo Ahn allowed Korea to secure the World Championship title prior to the start of the last race of the weekend. With the title out of reach, the Mení»s 5000m Relay Final was now a battle for the silver medal between Canada and China. Despite securing the overall title, Korea set a quick pace in the early parts of the race, with Canada and China right behind. Throughout the race, both Canada and Korea exchanged the lead while China struggled to keep up the pace. With 11 laps to go, the Koreans slipped on an exchange, opening the door to Canada for the win. Despite a late push in the dying laps of the race, Canada was able to hold off China and take second place in the overall standings. Taking advantage of Koreaí»s mistake, Italy (Nicola Rodigari, Fabio Carta, Nicola Franceschina, Roberto Serra and Yuri Confortola) closed the weekend with a third place finish in the relay.

Full results

From ISU website

Copyright ©2005 China Interactive Sports. All rights reserved.